Minden Duals

The Minden Whippets wrestling team held its annual Minden Invitational but this year the format was changed to a dual format with six teams competing.


Teams in the meet were Franklin, Minden, Cozad, Broken Bow, Holdrege and Phillipsburg, Kan.


In the first dual, Minden defeated Franklin by a score of 46-30 followed by a 48-24 loss to Cozad.


In the third dual, the Dawgs were defeated 57-20 by Holdrege and then by Broken Bow 57-24. In the final dual of the meet, the Whippets were topped by Phillipsburg, 66-15.


Minden went 1-5 in duals and placed fifth as a team. Phillipsburg won the tournament followed by Cozad and Holdrege.


Minden came away with two champions. Quin Rutt won the 170 pound title while Sam Fiest was the 182 pound champion. Jed Birnie was second at 160 pounds while Austin Olson was third at 106.


The full article can be found in the January 16, 2013, edition of the Minden Courier.

Leave a Reply